Staff Directory

Below find key contact information for Brooks Institute’s administrative staff.

Brooks Institute Leadership Team

The Leadership Team for Brooks Institute provides general oversight over the institution as a whole and directs both forward planning and review of the institute.

Administrative Contacts
Role Name Email Phone
President Susan Kirkman sue.kirkman@brooks.edu 805-690-7601 (Santa Barbara)
805-585-8807 (Ventura)
Director of Academic Affairs Amanda Brey abrey@brooks.edu 805-690-7640 (Santa Barbara)
Director of Finance and Operations Steve Hamaker shamaker@brooks.edu 805-690-7607 (Santa Barbara)
Director of Career Services Laura Nielsen lNielsen@brooks.edu 805-690-4945 (Santa Barbara)
805-653-8396 (Ventura)
VP of Admissions Maggie Balderas mbalderas@brooks.edu 805-585-8034 (Ventura)
Academic Office
Role Name Email Phone
Registrar April Reyes Areyes2@brooks.edu 805-690-7694 (Santa Barbara)
805-585-8045 (Ventura)
Academic Advisor - Santa Barbara Jolie Bernal jbernal@brooks.edu 805-690-7642 (Santa Barbara)
Academic Advisor - Ventura TBA 805-690-7607 (Ventura)
Program Leadership
Role Name Email Phone
Department Chair
Film | Communication
Gail Fisher gfisher@brooks.edu 805-585-8342
Ventura Campus
Program Chair
BFA Film
Gail Fisher, Interim gfisher@brooks.edu 805-585-8342
Ventura Campus
Program Chair
BFA Graphic Design
Barb Obermeier, Interim BOberrmeier@brooks.edu 805-585-8038
Ventura Campus
Program Chair
BFA Professional Photography
Bill Robbins brobbins@brooks.edu 805-690-4801
Mason Street Campus, third floor
Program Chair
MFA Photography
Marcia Rubenstein marcia.rubenstein@brooks.edu 805-690-4922
Cota Street Campus
Program Chair
Liberal Arts
George Ayoub, PhD george.ayoub@brooks.edu 905-690-8629 cell
Mason Campus/Ventura Campus
Interim Program Chair
BS Visual Journalism
Gail Fisher
gfisher@brooks.edu 805-585-8342
Ventura Campus